Tuesday, 3 September 2013

3 September 2013

We're on Tuesdays now, so not exactly kicking any weeks off. We'll sort that out shortly, but meantime, here's what went out.

Mary Epworth - September
John: Short and sweet to kick us off. That's the new single from Bishop Stortford's Miss Epworth and jolly good it is too.

Franz Ferdinand - Treason Animal
John: The new album, which came out a week ago, from these is 'Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Actions' and largely as you'd expect. This stood out for me for it's Joy Division-esque intro and bassline.

Mos Def ft Slick Rick - Auditorium
John: Mos Def has become one of the leading critics of America's foreign policy, to the point where he volunteered to be waterboarded in order to allow people to see for themselves whether it was torture or not. This, off 2009's album 'The Ecstatic' is about the war on terror and it feels like an important time to bring such matters up.

Cover Version Corner
Arcade Fire/Tears For Fears - Ready To Start
John: Tears For Fears are back! The two have put their acrimonious split behind them and started recording again. They say that having heard their stuff re-used and sampled all over the place while they've been away, they fancied doing something with an existing record. Arcade Fire plus a bit of drum 'n' bass is what we get. The original is off 2010's 'The Suburbs' and Arcade Fire have a new album, 'Reflektor', out soon.

The Dials - Rose Marie
John: New from these, this is off a forthcoming, as-yet untitled album which is due out on October 1. They'd better get a name soon. I'd have thought the artwork would have to be signed off shortly. Very Inspiral Carpetsy organ.
Carolyn (stepping into the room for the first time): Which is probably why you like it.

Belle and Sebastian - Your Cover's Blown (Miaoux Miaoux remix)
John: New but old but new. The new album is 'The Third Eye Centre' and consists of remixes, B-sides, unreleased goodies and what have you. I like the way it's almost like two songs in one.

Broken Arm - Guilty Conscience
John: Noisy and from Leeds, that's from an EP called 'Life Is Short' which comes out on October 14.
Carolyn: Yes, that came on pretty loud and quick. Apologies if it woke anyone else up.

One Degree of Separation
Melt Banana - Shield For Your Eyes, A Beast In The Well Of Your Hand
Melt Yourself Down - Camel
John: Melt Yourself Down are, I'm told, quite the live treat. Saxophones, brass, noise, general chaos. That's off their self-titled album that came out a while ago. Before that, Tokyo's Melt Banana off their 2003 album 'Cell-Scape'.
Carolyn: Melt? Is that it? Are you just phoning these in now?
John: It's a link. Of sorts.
Carolyn: I'm sure you used to put more effort in.

Black Yaya - Paint A Smile On Me
John: And we finish with this jaunty number from David Ivar from Paris off the album 'Eerie Themes and Tales Of Revenge'.

Here's all them via the magic of YouTube, apart from the Mary Epworth and Broken Arm tracks which are above.
Now, what to call the show...?

No comments: